#cpd23 Thing 6 – Online Communities

For this post, I will focus on LinkedIn and LISNPN, as I have spoken about Twitter in previous cpd23 posts, and I don’t use Facebook as a professional network (though I do follow some libraries on it, such as The British Library and the Bodleian).

LinkedIn

I set up a new profile, and the next day the LinkedIn leaked passwords were all over the news. So not the greatest of starts!

Currently I only have my library work experience on my profile, but I will be adding more to it when I get a bit of time. I also tried importing my CV, which seemed to work well, with some slight formatting issues, so this might be a good way to fill out my skills, interests etc.

To be honest though, I don’t feel I will be using LinkedIn for the groups. I don’t feel it offers much that I don’t already get from other sources. However, I will be keeping my profile, as LinkedIn generally ranks highly in Google search results, and as such offers a guaranteed professional image if someone were to Google me.

LISNPN

The LIS New Professionals Network is a great idea, as it gives a place for us all to come together. Though, I must admit, I do not use it to its full potential.

I found the anonymous Library School reviews very useful when applying for Masters courses, but I don’t tend to utilise the forum features. I am more of a lurker, which I imagine is the case for the majority of its users.

I’m going to try to use it more. I think I’ve been quite lucky in that my first proper library role was as a trainee at Oxford, where there were about 20 or so of us – a ready-made network and support structure! If I had been more isolated when starting out, and perhaps this will be the case in my first professional role after library school, LISNPN would be very useful for connecting with other new professionals and sharing ideas.

Online networks I don’t currently use…

  • Google+ – haven’t tried it, because I haven’t heard great things about its privacy settings. Perhaps I’ll give it a go in the future, but right now I’m in no hurry.
  • Pinterest – I do use Pinterest, a sort of online mood board where you ‘pin’ things from around the internet to various boards devoted to a subject. For example, I have a Recipes to make board. I find it useful for collating recipes, but I definitely don’t use it for networking, and I’m not sure whether libraries need to be on it (NB I found this article which discusses libraries using Pinterest). I think a focused social media strategy that concentrates on a few tools is far more effective than one which tries to keep up with the flavour of the month, perhaps to the detriment of quality.
    But in terms of my own social networking? No, I won’t use Pinterest for that. I enjoy it, but I see it as quite flippant and fluffy!
Leave a Reply

