2012 in review

I was mulling over a review of 2012 blog post, and WordPress have helpfully compiled an annual report for this blog. I’m very pleased with how this blog has been going this year, as I’ve gained new readers and followers, and there have been interesting discussions in comments.

Here’s an excerpt:

600 people reached the top of Mt. Everest in 2012. This blog got about 3,700 views in 2012. If every person who reached the top of Mt. Everest viewed this blog, it would have taken 6 years to get that many views.

Click here to see the complete report.

Ribbons

My posts from SLA 2012 in Chicago have been very popular, particularly my write-up of Mary Ellen Bates’ session on marketing for introverts. I hope to blog more this year, keeping it more regular and also expanding into more professional issues as well as personal reflection.

2012 was quite a year, especially in terms of my professional life and career. I won the SLA Europe/Business and Finance Early Career Conference Award to attend the SLA conference in Chicago. An amazing experience which I am sure you are all sick of me going on about! I wont repeat my gushings here, but if you’d like to read about it, I’ve tagged these posts SLA 2012.

I also completed my MA in Librarianship, and as such qualified as a librarian. Sadly, this meant leaving Sheffield, where I made some great friends, but I have moved on to bigger and better things; I am currently in my first professional post as a subject liaison librarian at a University. This is a challenging but rewarding role, and you can read about my first month in the post over at the LIS New Professional’s Toolkit site, the website accompanying Bethan Ruddock’s recently published book. If you are thinking about Library School at Sheffield, or even more generally, these posts are under Library School.

So what does 2013 have in store? I’ll be starting chartership this year. I also hope to get to some conferences, such as Umbrella or LILAC. I’m going to be blogging throughout chartership, as it’ll be useful to keep a record of things and for reflection. So there are a few professional activities to keep me going!

What are your aims and resolutions for 2013?

Leave a Reply

