Chartership submitted, and now the wait…

I’ve submitted my Chartership portfolio! It feels like I’ve been working on it for ages, but actually I’ve submitted a little over a year since I started the process. Hopefully I’ll hear back soon whether or not I’ve been successful.

During the last year, I spent a lot of time Googling blog posts about Chartership, so I thought it would be only fair to contribute a post of my own to the mix.

In terms of the overall experience, I am glad I have gone through it. I have now got into the habit of recording my continuing professional development (CPD) activities, and it was useful to identify gaps in my knowledge and actively work to filling them. It was a tough slog at times, and could be frustrating, but hopefully the changes to Chartership under the new regulations will streamline the process for new candidates.

Tips

  • Collect evidence as you go along. Collect everything – it’s better to have more than you need and select from that, than have a mad scramble to find a piece at the end.
  • Find a support network. That might be on the mailing list LIS-CILIP-REG, or the #chartership chat on Twitter, or other local candidates in your workplace or area. When I started, three other librarians I worked with also started, so we had a ready-made support group.
  • A new edition of Building your portfolio by Owen and Watson is coming out in August, which has been revamped for the new professional registration regulations.
  • I found Dropbox useful to store electronic evidence and documents, so I could access them at home as well as at work.

What will I continue?

  • I am going to keep recording my CPD in a diary or log, which will be useful for revalidation and for appraisals in work. The new CILIP VLE has an option to do this, so I am going to take a look.
  • I found using the SMART goals (Specific, Measurable, Agreed, Realistic, Time-bound) model really useful for putting together my personal and professional development plan (PPDP), and I’ll continue to use it in my work.

Plans for the future

  • A celebratory drink for submitting!
  • I’d like to train as a mentor, so I’m keeping an eye out for upcoming training dates (provided I pass Chartership, of course!)

Good luck to everyone going through professional registration!

One thought on “Chartership submitted, and now the wait…

  1. Pingback: I’m Chartered! | Kangarooth

Leave a Reply

