2014 in review. Hello 2015!

Reflecting on the past 12 months, I realise I have achieved a lot. And that might account for the year passing by in a flash! I don’t normally do resolutions blog posts, but I want to reflect on the last year. I started 2014 with a new job in a new sector, partway through the Chartership process. I have started 2015 Chartered and settled in this job, though with only 3 annual leave days to last me until 1st April!

So how did 2014 go? A few highlights.

Chartership

An achievement I’m particularly pleased with is getting Chartership. I worked hard to finish my portfolio before I got too far into my then-new job, and submitted in Spring/Summer. I am proud of my portfolio and having passed on my first attempt. I hope to become a CILIP mentor myself in the near future (though to be honest I am enjoying a break from it for the short-term!).

SLA Vancouver

The view from Vancouver conference centre

The view from Vancouver conference centre

Definitely the most exciting thing that happened to me last year was travelling to Canada for the SLA annual conference in Vancouver. I was very fortunate to receive the John Campbell Trust conference/travel bursary to attend. I was keen to return to the SLA conference after attending in 2012 in Chicago, so I am very grateful that this award allowed me to do so, and to see Canada for the first time. The 2015 Early Career Conference Awards are currently open for applications; I highly recommend applying to attend this year in Boston! I also attended LILAC, thanks to a LILAC bursary. 2014 was a packed year for my CPD. You can read my reflections on SLA2014 here.

Twitter workshops

A highlight at work has been the whirlwind take-off of Twitter workshops. Within three weeks of it being suggested, I ran my first session on using Twitter for professional development. Many of the people who came to the workshops just wanted to know what Twitter was and how it works – it is easy to forget not everyone is familiar with social media, or even using computers. It’s exciting to be running this training, as it’s not a traditional library offering and has given me opportunities to work with teams across the organisation.

2015

More of this in 2015!

More of this in 2015!

For 2015 my focus is going to be on some projects we’ve got going at work; hopefully I can implement in practice some of the things I’ve learnt throughout 2014. Mostly this year, however, my resolution is not to put any pressure on myself for CPD. I have also made a few personal New Year’s resolutions and plans; the main one is to pass my driving test. A bit more interestingly, I’m excited to be experiencing Iceland’s bizarre landscapes and midnight sun this summer, and have resolved to get in an outdoor rock climb in the next year.

One thought on “2014 in review. Hello 2015!

  1. Pingback: 2015 | Kangarooth

Leave a Reply

